TEXAS LTC (License to carry a handgun)

In this class you will obtain your license to carry a handgun, which allows you to legally carry it on your person (body) when it matters most.

Obtaining a Texas State License to Carry requires a 4-6 hour certification course which is mandated by the Texas Department of Public Safety (TXDPS). At the end of the classroom portion, you will take a 25 question multiple-choice and True / False exam. Don’t worry, it’s not timed.

As of May 1, 2024, the State of Texas will begin requiring all LTC instructors to provide range instruction and handgun proficiency.  This is something we have already begun to implement in all our LTC courses.  If you are unfamiliar with firing a handgun, we will provide adequate instruction to familiarize you before qualification.

IN THE TEXAS LTC CLASS, WE WILL COVER:

  1. Laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force
  2. Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns
  3. Non-violent dispute resolution
  4. Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child

To qualify for your license, you must also complete a 50-round shooting proficiency test.
You will be required to fire from three distances:
3 yards – 20 rounds fired
7 yards – 20 rounds fired
15 yards – 10 rounds fired

LTC COURSE

$140.00

Ammo Requirements
50 rounds (Factory loads only)
100 Rounds Recommended

Duration
Approx 4-6 hrs

To schedule a class:
Call or Text
361-676-7908

Sight Picture Distance Examples

3 Yards Sight Picture

7 Yards Sight Picture

15 Yards Sight Picture